Indian Women's Association Singapore    


Launched as the Expatriate Indian Women’s Club, the Association was launched on September 20, 1997, coincidentally India’s 50th year of independence. 

This newly formed social non-profit organization’s mission was to provide a “home away from home.” In addition, it was earmarked as a support network and a link to our rich culture, through the promotion and import of exclusively Indian events such as plays, music, art, fashion, and dance performances. And so it began…

The Indian Women's Association was founded in 1998 as a social and cultural club to provide the group of women arriving in Singapore a connect. 

IWA's activities centered around celebrating the festivals of India, bringing in artisans and luminaries of Indian culture and sports as well as being a place where Indian women could meet other like-minded women through activities and social gatherings. Originally launched as an expats group, it was then called Expat Indian Women's Association (EIWA) under the patronage of the High Commission of India. The charter was subsequently changed to include all Indian women residing in Singapore, and the name was changed to Indian Women's Association Singapore, to reflect this. 

Membership was opened to women of Indian origin and women married to Indian men as well. Today, it has opened its membership to all women who are interested in its programs and clubs through the new Associate Membership.

Past Presidents

 Year  IWA President
 2023 Gauri Savadi
 2022 Selme Singh / Madhu Suri
 2021 Selme Singh
 2020 Anuradha Shroff
 2019 Anuradha Shroff
 2018 Garima Lalwani / Chandan Lehal
 2017 Garima Lalwani
 2016 Sukanya Pushkarna
 2015 Sukanya Pushkarna
 2014 Piu Lahiri
 2013 Piu Lahiri
 2012 Subina Khaneja
 2011 Subina Khaneja
 2010 Shalini Sinha
 2009 Shalini Sinha
 2008 Shalini Sinha
 2007 Binifer Kaushal
 2006 Vanitha Narasimhan
 2005 Nandini Gupta / Vanitha Narasimhan
 2004 Pinky Pant
 2003 Radhika Kothari
 2002 Bina Batlivala
 2001 Lata Iyer
 2000 Lubna Jumabhouy
 1999 Lata Iyer
 1998 Julie Mehta
 1997 Julie Mehta

 Copyright 2020@ Indian Women's Association Singapore | P.O. Box no. 472, Orchard Post Office, Singapore 912316 |

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software